The Mom Hat: Thanksgiving 2012

On The Menu This Year:
Cornish Game Hens  with Garlic and Rosemary cooked in the slow cooker on High for 4 hours
Stuffing
Watergate Salad with minced Cranberries instead of Pecans
Candied Sweet Potatoes
Canned Jellied Cranberry Sauce
and the classic Green Bean Casserole

Compared to some people’s menus that I’ve seen, ours was pretty tame. One of my friends posted theirs on Facebook and it included at least 3 meat items. Who does that? Seriously? Maybe I just like simplicity.

I made the hens in the slow cooker to make my life easier and planned on transferring them to the oven to brown them in the end. By the time I was ready to throw them in, though, they were so tender that they just fell apart with every attempt to lift them out of the crock. Still amazing.

Yet again, dinner was ready late (7pm instead of 6:30) so The Boss was unable to break bread with us. I told Tripper that we’re going to be normal people next year and eat Thanksgiving dinner at 3pm.

Why is that anyway? Why do we eat so obnoxiously early on the holidays? It’s more like Thanksgiving Lunch than dinner.

Thanksgiving dessert became post-Thanksgiving breakfast.

I can’t wait until next year when the Boss and I will be making gratitude leaves.

On a sadder note, there was not much to be thankful for in our eyes this year. Last year was my first Thanksgiving after my dad had passed away and this year was the first without my Uncle Hilary as well. It’s difficult being without family on the holidays which is one of the reasons I want to create such a big one. Someday years in the future, my home will be filled with the laughter of all my children (perhaps their own as well) and my table will be surrounded by enough family to make sure no one ever feels alone. For now, we are thankful for the roof over our heads, the love in our hearts, the family that we do have, and the ability to live in financial comfort.

What were you thankful for this year?

Leave a Reply

