The Wise Hat: Cinematic Romance vs. Reality

Several people have asked me why my save-the-dates haven’t been sent out yet. Part of the reason is simply because I’m a very good procrastinator with a dash of forgetfulness. Another part is that I can’t make up my mind which ones I want. The last part… well the last part is maybe a case of cold feet. Truthfully, our relationship has been on the rocks since the Boss was born. We’ve had up times and down times and right now is a down time. Sometimes I can’t help but wonder if it’s all in my head.

As women, we have been trained by hollywood on what a relationship is supposed to look like. I’m grown enough to understand that that’s not what real life is like and relationships aren’t perfect. But don’t you think that maybe a shred of it might be true? I would like to know what happy couples look like. Real life happy couples. How much do they kiss? How much do they smile? How many times a week do they have sex?

In the Sex and the City movie when they are sitting around together talking about the state of Samantha’s relationship…

Samantha Jones: Relationships aren’t just about being happy. I mean, how often are you happy in your relationship?
Charlotte York: Every day.
Samantha Jones: Every day?
Charlotte York: Well, not all day every day but yes, every day.

How true is this? Because of this is 100% true I might be in trouble.

What about you committed folk: Are you happy every day?

Leave a Reply

